Friday Rants with Me

In elementary school, I read a book that changed my life–Anne Frank’s diary.  I was instantly fascinated by her family’s plight during the Nazi occupation of much of western Europe during WWII and the Nazi parties’ treatment of Jews.

I was also appalled.  How could rational people turn so quickly on one specific group just because some loud-mouth said to?  I couldn’t understand it.  My 10-year-old self quickly started devouring books about the concentration camps and the Anti-Semitic movement of that era.

Yes, I also read “Sweet Valley High” books during this period of my life too because I was not as deep in the fourth grade as the previous paragraphs suggest.

70-something years after the fact, I see people in America being persecuted, screamed at in random public places, and ostracized because of their religion.  Presidential candidates saying we should label those who are different.  For what reason?  Because some radical extremists killed people.  So, therefore, all of those people are bad.

Um, that’s not a rational argument.   Not even close.

Be mad about violence.

Be enraged about shitty treatment.  But, don’t make a snap judgment about someone because they share some religious beliefs with criminals and/or terrorists.

I hear people argue about police officers and how “they’re all crooked or bad.”  No, they aren’t.  Some of the best people I know are police officers.

There are always a few bad apples in every basket because that’s the way the world is.  People do stupid and horrible shit. But, to lump everyone into one group of stupid and horrible shit just based on religion, sexual orientation, race, etc. is ludicrous.

The United States was founded by fearless people who wanted a better life, no matter their religion.  Just something to keep in mind when you fear-monger.

 

Leave a Reply

