A Fond Farewell

NUVO cover

From the time I wrote a cover story–March 2014.

At the end of the month, we’ll say good-bye to 2015. I’ll be personally saying good-bye to a position I’ve held for close to four years-I’m stepping down as the Naptown Roller Girls PR/Media Relations Coordinator.

When I was first tasked with this in 2012, I had no idea what to expect.  A member of the league’s Board of Directors approached me about stepping into the role because of my extensive media background.  I’d already aided the previous chair on a few projects in 2011, so I knew a little bit.  A very little bit.  In many cases, I was making it up as I went along.

From there, I decided to approach it the way I approach everything–with passion and 110% dedication.  Even if it wasn’t my full-time job, I wanted to spread the word about the sport that changed my life and the league that adopted me.

Little did I know the job would romance me into dusting off my skates for a second shot at playing.  I would get a few wins for the league, including a couple of mayoral proclamations and a few articles.  I’d get lucky to have a skater scare a potential burglar away with a sword.  I didn’t have to do much there, but chatting with the producers of “The View” was a nice surprise.

While this position put my work in front of thousands, I feel like the time has come to take a step back and reassess my priorities, on and off-skates.   My parents’ collective health is now in the balance, as are my career goals and prospects.  Throw in skating, running a half-marathon next year, and jiu-jitsu….you’ve got a lady who is squeezing in time with her husband and time for herself.

So, something has to give.  Using my abilities to best serve the league I love has been a pleasure and I have the utmost confidence in my successor.

It’s simply time to do something else with my God-given talents.

Oh, and still kick ass!

 

Leave a Reply

