Really Disappointed or Really Amused

As in, what I surely must be at this moment in time.

In the continuing search for what I want to be when I grow up, I throw my feelers out there on a semi-regular basis.

Sometimes, I get a polite response or no response at all.

Then, I got this.

My heart is broken.  No, really, it is.
My heart is broken. No, really, it is.

For starters, I sent my materials to this spot several months ago on a whim.  I didn’t expect much, so a rejection was a little unexpected.

Given the tone of this email, it makes it sound like they’d rather swallow glass than speak to me.

Does it mean I’d be the “right fit” if I lost 15 lbs?  Take 10 years off my age?  Will I be the right fit tomorrow maybe? Next year?  I see loads of unanswered questions in the statement, “you are not the right fit for the position at this time.”

Believe me, I understand my writing and sense of dry wit is not everyone’s cup of tea.  I also understand that a wealth of experience can mean being overlooked because of the current state of the economy.

Going on to apologize for the “disappointing news” also makes it sound like this is going to crush my world into a billion pieces.  Trust me, it’s not.  This particular job probably wouldn’t have been the type of challenge I am seeking anyway.

They must’ve found my reference to “how much wood could a woodchuck chuck” to be repugnant.  I guess I can take comfort in knowing I elicited such a strong response.

Perhaps they could consider me for rejection letter writing.  I bet I’d be “the right fit at this time” for such an endeavor.

3 thoughts on “Really Disappointed or Really Amused

Leave a Reply

