Oompa Loompa?

The throbbing in my left shoulder seems to be improving, although I’m sure typing doesn’t necessarily make it better.

I have a pulled muscle on the back of my left shoulder and it hurts to bend my arm across my chest.

Never having had a semi-serious injury from playing sports, this is new to me.  Broken toes and bone bruises aside, this is sort-of painful.

If I was able to do the aforementioned omoplata escape, perhaps I would’ve avoided my current state of mild misery.

For starters, I couldn’t pronounce it for the longest time and referred to it as the “Oompa Loompa.”  My husband assures me no small orange midgets are ever thrown in Jiu-Jitsu.

We worked this type of shoulder lock submission Saturday. It is excruciating when it happens to you.  If you’ve ever had a shoulder dislocated, you can kind-of understand.  If not, I strongly advise against it.

I am a novice at this point, so my technique is not the greatest.  At some point, my sparring partner did the omoplata and I felt my shoulder stretch.

Good news is that nothing is broken or torn and I’ll heal.  This is also perhaps a sign that I need to stretch my shoulders more often.

Well, at least no orange midgets were harmed and they can return to working at the chocolate factory.

Leave a Reply

